

Published on University of Toronto Faculty Association (https://www.utfa.org)

<u>Home</u> > <u>Who We Are</u> > <u>Committees</u> > Equity

Equity Committee

The committee advises Council on all matters pertaining to equity, diversity and inclusion – including race, gender, sexual orientation and ability – and assists UTFA in developing policy and approaches to pay equity, employment equity, all forms of harassment, personal safety, and accommodation.

The Equity Committee has an ongoing commitment to a decolonizing mandate: it seeks proactive redress for the effects of systemic forms of discrimination and white supremacy enacted at the University of Toronto embedded in distinct forms of anti-blackness, anti-indigeneity, racism, xenophobia, Islamophobia, antisemitism, homophobia, and sexism.

Realizing that equity, diversity, and inclusivity are individual and collective responsibilities, the Equity Committee commits to providing leadership that opposes systemic discrimination, encourages inclusivity by promoting equity within UTFA's work and governance structures, as well as holding University of Toronto's administration accountable for substantive, binding commitments to foster diversity, equity and inclusion."

Chair: Girish Daswani, daswani@utfa.org

Interim Chair: Judith Taylor, taylor@utfa.org, July 1 - December 31, 2025

Committee Members	Constituency
Kass Banning	Cinema Studies
Kristen Bos	UTM: Historical Studies
Jennifer Brant	Dept of Curriculum, Teaching & Learning
Darren Dias	St. Michael's College - Theology
Girish Daswani	UTSC: Dept-Anthropology

Sherri Helwig UTSC: Arts, Culture & Media

Sheliza Ibrahim UTM: Inst. Study of Univ Pedagogy

Whitney Kemble UTSC: Library User Services & Collections

Raymond Kwong Retired Member

Krista Maxwell Dept of Anthropology

Kathleen Scheaffer UTM: Library

Arjumand Siddiqi Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Azita Taleghani Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations

Source URL (modified on Jul 4 2025): https://www.utfa.org/content/equity-committee