University and External Affairs Committee

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

This committee is chaired by the Vice-President, University and External Affairs and advises Council and the Executive on matters of general concern to the University community, including relations with the Provincial and Federal Governments. It monitors matters arising from the Policies and Procedures of the University of Toronto, and issues concerning the relationship between members and bodies outside the University. It also assists other UTFA committees to monitor changes in University policies. It assists UTFA in presenting the Association’s position to government officials as well as advocacy groups and coalitions whose interests are of importance to the University. The committee also monitors matters pertaining to UTFA's relationship with Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT) and Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) and other faculty associations. It also provides advice to appropriate committees within UTFA regarding any matter that may have implications for the well-being of the Association members.


Chair: Jeff Bale,

Committee Members Constituency
Sherri Helwig UTSC - Arts, Culture & Media
Renan Levine UTSC - Political Science
Kim MacKinnon Department of Curriculum, Teaching & Learning
Ruth Marshall Department for the Study of Religion
Joseph Steinberg Economics
Matthew Stoddard UTSC - English