UTFA Presidential Election 2018

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Nominations closed

This year is a Presidential election year for the University of Toronto Faculty Association.

The period for nominating candidates for the position of the President of UTFA has now ended. There are two nominees: Cynthia Messenger and Ken MacDonald. As a result, there will be an election.

The President of UTFA is directly elected by the members of the Association. All members of UTFA in good standing are eligible to vote. We will use the same online voting system we used in the last election. Detailed voting instructions will be sent to members next week. Please note that the voting period will end on Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

The term of office for the UTFA President is two years, renewable to a maximum of three continuous terms. The next term of office begins July 1, 2018.

The procedural language pertaining to electing the President of UTFA is found in the UTFA Constitution. There is also language pertaining to the duties of the President in both the Constitution and the By-Laws.

If you have questions about the election or the nomination process, please write to Alan White, Chief Returning Officer and UTFA Council member for Joseph L. Rotman School of Management, at chiefreturningofficer@utfa.org.